Author Topic: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre  (Read 269163 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Purrfect

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Thanked: 2 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #690 on: April 18, 2017, 08:33:35 pm »
Hi Folks,

Our EE Internet service (which like many other providers, uses the same Openreach Ďlast-mileí infrastructure from the BT exchange) hasnít been affected by these issues, consistently gives about 30Mbps (20Mbps to 50Mbps) and is also cheaper than BT.

Perhaps the problem with BT lies elsewhere i.e. within BTís own network and out through to their Internet gateway? Or maybe their newer style Home Hub Routers or default settings need to be updated and checks done to see if you are experiencing intermittent channel interference from nearby routers/other devices?

If BT are not providing the service you are paying for, you should legally be entitled to cancel the contract and go elsewhere.

You could try getting together and lobbying Virgin Media to expand their existing Business-Only full-fibre service network in Brookmans Park to residential premises, but as mentioned previously, they will probably want the substantial full build costs up-front (well beyond the budget of any single household!).

Good luck!
« Last Edit: April 18, 2017, 10:18:14 pm by Mermaid »
 
The following users thanked this post: Mermaid

Offline sgoldswo

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Thanked: 8 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #691 on: May 12, 2017, 12:03:14 am »
Sasquartch, Thank you for the reply.
It seems you are implicitly agreeing with me; that the poor service is part of a cunning BT plan to get people to upgrade and pay for it.

It may help to know that the FTTP connection I signed up to is cheaper (considerably so) than my previous FTTC broadband. No connection fee was payable.
 

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
  • Thanked: 8 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #692 on: July 25, 2017, 09:44:39 am »
I received the following information today from Openreach regarding fast internet provision (FTTP/G fast) to the parts of Brookmans Park not currently benefiting from the highspeed FTTP installation of early 2017. It looks like G fast is going to be the likley installation option for those not on FTTP, if it comes to BP at all!  That is assuming of course Virgin dont come here first. Again highley unlikley. I personally am holding out for 5G being rolled out nationwide from 2020 which will trump all of the Openreach offerings overnight. ;D

"While the majority of residents are able to benefit from FTTC, Iíve been told that some postcodes have been upgraded to FTTP.   This is because premises in those postcodes (in fact they are served by cabinet 1) are much further away (permitted distance is up to 1.8km) from the fibre cabinet to benefit from FTTC.   Deployment of FTTP overcomes the distance issue but is costly to install, so itís usually only provided via public funding - in this case with support from Connected Counties.

I understand that Connected Counties have a plan to provide a small part of this area with FTTP or FTTC but BDUK money can only be spent where people do not already get superfast. There are no commercial plans to deploy FTTP to premises served by cabinet 2

As you may be aware, going forward, weíve announced plans to deploy G-fast.  This is a new technology that builds on our existing FTTC network and allows us to get affordable ultrafast speeds to the largest number of premises in the fastest possible time.  The G-fast product is still currently in a pilot phase and is being tested in twenty locations across the country.  There is no trial site in the Hatfield area.

This product is still in the pilot phase However, we hope to start rolling this out next year and aim to reach 10 million premises with G-fast by the end of 2020, offering a range of speeds going up to 300Mbps"

https://www.homeandwork.openreach.co.uk/fibre-broadband/ultrafast-fibre/gfast.aspx
 
 

Offline slimgym

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • Thanked: 2 times
  • Gender: Male
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #693 on: July 25, 2017, 03:19:08 pm »
You are extremely lucky :) In Essendon they have just committed to some solution (as yet unrevealed) late 2019 or early 2020. They are planning to liven up the cabinet in the next few months (five years late) and only just dropped the bombshell that Essendon is too far to benefit from it (a fact they knew from the start).

Current speed: 1.1 meg.
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1414
  • Thanked: 23 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #694 on: July 25, 2017, 03:48:35 pm »
I personally am holding out for 5G being rolled out nationwide from 2020 which will trump all of the Openreach offerings overnight. ;D

It's unlikely there will be cost effective 5G to power a home network for some time.

I looked at using 4G before FTTP came to Peplins and there weren't any unlimited plans that would be workable - with three teenage children I regularly get through 500GB/Month. I don't expect 5G will be any different, its really aimed at single devices, ie mobile phones

 

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
  • Thanked: 8 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #695 on: August 21, 2017, 12:23:10 pm »
Interesting to read of the phone company EE cat 9 service being rolled out nationwide. Theoretical speeds of 360mbps over the air when it arrives. Good news for those of us forgotten about in the recent FTTP upgrade of Brookmans Park. With the start by three mobile of all you can eat data contracts maybe over the air provision is the future? Working from home with the need to do large file downloads of 10gb plus, this is great news. BP
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1414
  • Thanked: 23 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #696 on: August 21, 2017, 02:30:31 pm »
I doubt all you can eat contracts will be available on 4G for anything like the cost of fixed line DSL

I'd suspect trying to use a 4G connection to share for your home network would be against any fair-use clause as well
 

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
  • Thanked: 8 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #697 on: August 22, 2017, 11:41:02 am »
i guess the market will decide regarding costing and fair usage of unlimited data contracts. Three mobile already offer them-hopefully others will follow.
It would also  seem some of the masts in BP are already LTE A cat 6 and i am getting 130/20 in some locations on EE using the app open signal (other are available). ironically the speeds cover the FTTP area of BP mainly which is annoying. Heres hoping all masts are upgraded soon.Onwards!!
 

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
  • Thanked: 8 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #698 on: September 12, 2017, 04:46:28 pm »
I have installed a LTE (4G) Xpol 0001 Antennae connected to a dlink dwr 953 router in my loft using a 30gb data sim from EE for an over the air internet connection. I got the router and antennae from broadband buyer (other people also sell it) and the sim from EE who are a 4g provider in this area.
I am getting between 60 down and 20 up now from inside the loft on a hard wired cat 6 connection-this is far better than my internet provider who i will be looking to close my contract with.  i have run my business internet off this EE sim with no problems for 10 days. Line of sight tests (using the open signal app on my phone) to the brookmans park antennae on the great north road (which i am assuming is the mast i connect to) are getting me over 100 down and 30 up! I will be putting the antennae somewhere outside the loft on the second floor of the house (with line of sight) to try to get this increased benefit. Hope this info is of use to any businesses locally that are struggling with poor land broadband and may wish to explore 4g provision. If you can see that mast from the top floor of your house you may be able to get a similar signal. ;D

Cheers BP
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1414
  • Thanked: 23 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #699 on: September 12, 2017, 05:27:27 pm »
Line of sight tests (using the open signal app on my phone) to the brookmans park antennae on the great north road (which i am assuming is the mast i connect to) are getting me over 100 down and 30 up!

I don't know where you are in BP but the EE tower for me is next to the scout hut. Possibly there are other towers elsewhere in BP that EE use

Unfortunately the Ofcom interactive map that showed every tower along with operator and signal strength information is no longer available
 

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
  • Thanked: 8 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #700 on: September 12, 2017, 05:45:33 pm »
I think the mast data sites are all out of date now as the providers deemed it commercially sensitive information. The one marked near me is not there and is an orange mast!! Vintage!
 

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 536
  • Thanked: 8 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #701 on: September 14, 2017, 10:36:09 am »
aerial now out side and getting 80\40 which is more than enough for my needs. happy days
 

Offline slimgym

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • Thanked: 2 times
  • Gender: Male
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #702 on: September 28, 2017, 01:18:22 am »
Did anyone moving from another provider back to BT for FTTP experience any issues in keeping their existing telephone number? A few years back there used to be issues keeping numbers when moving between providers (some would promise it, fail to provide it, and people would lose the number they've had for many years, and never get it back).

I wonder if these are sorted, specially since there only appear to be four who can do this form of FTTP (AAisp, BT, Spectrum and Zen).
 

Offline Adrian

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #703 on: September 28, 2017, 09:13:14 am »
I have switched between various providers including BT over the years. I have never had an issue with retaining my number. Currently I'm with EE, BT before that, Plusnet before that...........
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1414
  • Thanked: 23 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #704 on: September 28, 2017, 09:24:00 am »
I was with PlusNet and as they could not offer the change to FTTP I changed to BT

No problems at all. Possibly due to the phone line staying on the existing copper and the broadband using the new fibre

Also PlusNet are part of BT so not sure if that makes any difference
 

Offline slimgym

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • Thanked: 2 times
  • Gender: Male
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #705 on: October 03, 2017, 10:26:36 am »
Thanks that's good news from both. I am wary because a few years back I signed up with a provider who promised they could do it but when the contract arrived there was a new number. Whilst sales were confident they were wrong so customer services cancelled the change and I stayed with the existing provider. I then signed up with BT and keeping the number was not an issue. After that I discovered you could only keep it if you ported to and from BT. A friend has moved BT > Sky > Virgin (other companies are available) and had no problems doing so hopefully these are historic issues that no longer occur.
 

Tags: