Author Topic: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre  (Read 227413 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jonS

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 6
  • Thanked: 9 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #600 on: February 02, 2017, 08:53:13 am »
Actually plusnet offer an FTTP trial, but you first have to be on thier ADSL service. If you are on their FTTC service then you will need to downgrade to ADSL before applying to the trial. That being said you won't be able to order anything over 80/20 with plusnet, but at least on FTTP you would get the touted speeds and not this 'up to' nonsense.

https://community.plus.net/t5/custom/page/page-id/_FttpFaq
https://community.plus.net/t5/Fibre-To-The-Premises-trial/bd-p/FTTPtrial
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1388
  • Thanked: 11 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #601 on: February 02, 2017, 10:17:35 am »
Does anyone know what the deals available are by calling the FTTP sales line ?

I'm assuming the choice will be Infinity 1,2,3 or 4 but am not sure whether you have to have a landline and if this is a way to save money

My landline rarely gets used for anything other than cold callers and with everyone in the household having a mobile a landline is something I could probably do without

 

Offline sgoldswo

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 56
  • Thanked: 8 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #602 on: February 07, 2017, 06:52:52 pm »
I live on Moffats and I can see BT have finished running fibre optic cable to the telephone poles down the road. I'm just wondering if anyone else on Moffats has been connected to FTTP yet? I've checked the line checker and BT Broadband Product availability and I cannot see anything other than FTTC at the moment. I'm assuming it hasn't been switched on yet.
 

Offline Red-Point

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Thanked: 8 times
  • Forum Member
  • Expertises:
  • CAA Certified Aerial Photography & Videography
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #603 on: February 07, 2017, 07:01:35 pm »
Check here https://www.btwholesale.com/includes/adsl/main.html. I'm in Moffats too and the web site shows that FTTP is available at max rate.  So we should be able to order  :)
 
The following users thanked this post: Editor, sgoldswo

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 527
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #604 on: February 10, 2017, 10:57:18 am »
The last Fibre cabled pole for FTTP is so close to my house but we wont be getting it according to Openreach. Im genuinely fed up that we are expected to put up with a intermittent shaky connection while 1/3rd of Brookmans Park has the fastest connection in Europe. I have been told by Openreach that they chose roads which have the worst service and that sufferred from the worst RF (Radio) interference. Im not sure how this is quantified as all cables throughout brookmans park act as an aerial. Also with many RF ridden slow and shaky connections still existing in Brookmans Park it was not comprehensive. Certainly houses near the last pole- mimms drive/calder junction are next to the cabinet so will have had 60-70 speed anyway. That doesnt follow? Grants office have been more than helpful but they cannot force openreach to do this but will i am assured be pushing them.  FTTP (OD) provision on demand is so expensive and companies like hypnotic will only fibre office buildings at a comparable to BT residential rate. We are it seems stranded. Its a first world problem but nonetheless its a big shame and infuriating nonetheless. Does anyone else feel the same? BP
 

Offline Alex

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
  • Thanked: 7 times
  • Gender: Male
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #605 on: February 10, 2017, 03:01:40 pm »
BrookyP
I live in Upland Drive, and get good speeds via Infinity 2 , the box is top of Georges Wood Road. I called BT, and they said that for now FTTP isn't on the horizon. I'm fine with what I have, but more would be better perhaps!!
Alex
 

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 527
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #606 on: February 10, 2017, 03:23:56 pm »
Hi Alex. More is always better agreed ;D  This really though is about having a line that I pay BT for that suffers from fluctuating speeds, and so affects home business provision. Providers should be made to guarantee a minimum speed. Its a young industry-In 10 years time we will all look back a laugh at what we put up with.. :-\
 

Offline Adrian

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #607 on: February 10, 2017, 04:40:24 pm »
Also with many RF ridden slow and shaky connections still existing in Brookmans Park it was not comprehensive.


Openreach sent an engineer to my home about 6 months ago as the line was not achieving their predicted speed (They sent one round a few years ago too). The engineer who attended stated it was due to interference from the BP Transmitter Station so I don't understand why the cabling stops at the end of the road and isn't an option to me.
 

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 527
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #608 on: February 10, 2017, 04:58:45 pm »
Fibre doesnt carry RF which is why its so good. We all suffer from it on our copper or aluminium lines-I get sunrise indian radio-which is why it would have been great for openreach to just sort the whole village out and not a bit of it!
 

Offline mj

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 9
  • Thanked: 1 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #609 on: February 14, 2017, 07:26:52 pm »
FTTP is now available in Moffats Lane. I ordered Infinity 3 (200Mb) as it was offered to me at 42.99pm inc line rental, so was only 4pm more than I currently pay for Infinity 1 (13Mb as the cable is poor quality). Infinity 4 (330Mb) was 57.49pm. There seem to be different offers from time to time so others may get a better or worse deal!


Will be end of the month before it's up and running as an engineer appointment is required. The number to order from BT is 0800 5874787. It'll be worth the 1 a week extra to not have to listen to my teenage children tell me how rubbish our internet is several times a day.
 
The following users thanked this post: Red-Point

Offline Grant Shapps MP

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
  • Thanked: 12 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #610 on: February 15, 2017, 02:07:06 pm »
This message from the Chief Engineer of Openreach:

---

Grant,
Just to let you know the FTTP build is now complete with the last 252 addresses now enabled making a total of 611 prems that can get FTTP.
The systems should have updated by Monday morning for orders.

---

On the last point, I have been contacted by many residents who find that when they call their internet provider they claim that this utlra-fast FTTP is not available in Brookmans Park. This can legitimately be because the provider isn't actually selling FTTP. However, this is not the case if you happen to request it from BT who most certainly can offer the service. If anyone is getting the same response then feel free to drop me an email grant@shapps.com and I'll nudge them on your behalf which will get the ordering problem resolved.

 

Offline Ratta

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #611 on: February 15, 2017, 03:17:12 pm »
I live in Peplins Way and BT say I can only get Infinity 2. Is this correct?
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1388
  • Thanked: 11 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #612 on: February 15, 2017, 04:11:53 pm »
I live in Peplins Way and BT say I can only get Infinity 2. Is this correct?

Strange

I just checked bt.com and my address in Peplins is saying Infinity 3 and 4 is available albeit at higher prices than 'mj' posted above

Whereabouts in Peplins are you ? Is there a pole near your house ?
 

Offline Ratta

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #613 on: February 15, 2017, 04:22:25 pm »
Hi there, I live opposite the back gate of the school and the pole is right outside my house.
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1388
  • Thanked: 11 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #614 on: February 15, 2017, 04:29:13 pm »
Well I'm opposite Peplins Close so only a stone's throw away

What does bt.com say for your address ? (When you do the check just put your postcode and house number in and click on the 'I don't know the landline')

 

Offline Ratta

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #615 on: February 15, 2017, 04:55:02 pm »
It says on line that that I can get Infinity 3 but when I speak to the service team to place my order and give them my telephone number and address they say only Infinity 2 is available. So frustrating !!
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1388
  • Thanked: 11 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #616 on: February 15, 2017, 05:28:59 pm »
I wonder if its because you are giving them your phone number.

The new FTTP infrastructure required for Inf 3 and 4 is independent of the existing phone lines - Infinity 1 and 2 is regular VDSL broadband down the copper phone line.

Perhaps that's where the confusion is ?
 

Offline Grant Shapps MP

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
  • Thanked: 12 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #617 on: February 16, 2017, 10:01:17 am »
Hi all,

The specific addresses included by Openreach are all listed here:
http://www.brookmans.com/forum/index.php/topic,937.msg40627.html#msg40627

I've queried whether others can be included, but for the time being this is the extent of their work. Apparently based on the areas where problems previously prevented better speeds.  However, if anyone is suffering outside of these areas with extremely slow speeds (sub 10mbps and definitely sub 2mbps), then we can battle your case. That won't lead to FTTP, but they should be able to deliver better than 2mbps and if not there is a government grant available for an alternative solution (satellite).

Grant.
 
The following users thanked this post: Ratta

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 527
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #618 on: February 16, 2017, 10:12:46 am »
Heres hoping for inclusion in any future post trial rollouts ;D
 
The following users thanked this post: Ratta

Offline Ratta

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #619 on: February 16, 2017, 12:45:06 pm »
Thanks Grant. so living at 57 Peplins Way, it looks like I should be able to infinity 3 or 4 especially given I have a pole outside my house. BT are still saying I can only get the infinity 1 & 2 with the slower speeds.
 

Offline Grant Shapps MP

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
  • Thanked: 12 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #620 on: February 16, 2017, 02:22:09 pm »
For Ratta and anyone else. If you are listed as a property (in my link above to the post on this forum) which has FTTP (that's the ultra-fast up to 330mbps internet) available and BT are saying you can't have it when you try to order, then just drop me an email grant@shapps.com and I'll work with the Openreach Chief Engineer to put them straight!
 

Offline Red-Point

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Thanked: 8 times
  • Forum Member
  • Expertises:
  • CAA Certified Aerial Photography & Videography
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #621 on: February 16, 2017, 06:00:08 pm »
FTTP ordered via 0800 5874787 today. The agent had some difficulty in reconciling the reported availability of Infinity 4 with what his system was letting him book.  Fortunately the problem was resolved with a spot of managerial support. The system confusion had to do with FTTC and FTTP being available to the same subscriber line.  It took absolutely ages but the BT folk were helpful.  Patience and persistence are needed 🙂
 
The following users thanked this post: Editor

Offline Kingston

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 4
  • Gender: Male
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #622 on: February 19, 2017, 07:59:44 pm »
Same experience as red-point. Agent was very good but took ages.
Fingers crossed that the installation goes as promised!
 

Offline Red-Point

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Thanked: 8 times
  • Forum Member
  • Expertises:
  • CAA Certified Aerial Photography & Videography
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #623 on: February 20, 2017, 12:27:11 pm »
For those channeling their inner geek, you might find these short videos of interest if you're curious about how FTTP gets to your home.  They've been produced by BT Openreach.



FTTP Next Gen Access Demo Tour
Building an FTTP Network

 
The following users thanked this post: Editor

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1388
  • Thanked: 11 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #624 on: February 20, 2017, 12:57:03 pm »
Same experience as red-point. Agent was very good but took ages.
Fingers crossed that the installation goes as promised!

How soon is the installation date ?

Also, as it's a new cable / fibre, can you choose where it comes into the house ?
 

Offline Editor

  • David Brewer
  • Administrator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 8681
  • Thanked: 117 times
  • Gender: Male
    • Media Helping Media
  • Expertises:
  • Media consultant
  • Journalism trainer
  • Walking
  • Real ale
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #625 on: February 20, 2017, 02:25:41 pm »
FTTP ordered via 0800 5874787 today. The agent had some difficulty in reconciling the reported availability of Infinity 4 with what his system was letting him book.  Fortunately the problem was resolved with a spot of managerial support. The system confusion had to do with FTTC and FTTP being available to the same subscriber line.  It took absolutely ages but the BT folk were helpful.  Patience and persistence are needed 🙂

Very grateful for this valuable advice. Thanks to your tips, Red Point, I have now ordered an installation of Infinity 4. But, I think that if I had not read your posts and those of others on this forum, I might have been fobbed off with Infinity 2, which, although cheaper, would have been a lot slower.

For any others calling the number shared by Red Point, a few words of warning and a few added tips.

I had to spend 45 mins talking to a very helpful woman who told me I could have Infinity 2 FTTP (Fibre To The Premises). It would have been cheaper than what I am currently paying and would have given me 80 mps (mebibyte per second). I quoted from Red Point's post and asked about Infinity 4. The assistant said she would have to check with her manager. She came back and said Infinity 4 was available, but that she would need to transfer me to another department. The second call lasted one hour and 35 mins and resulted in me getting a quote for the more expensive Infinity 4 but with an introductory discount for an 18 month contract, making it almost the same as we are paying now. (It might have helped that we are currently out of the contract period).

That second call also started with them offering me Infinity 2 FTTP, and it wasn't until I pushed again that I was told that Infinity 4 is an option. So I am guessing that the staff on the end of the phones have not been told to push Infinity 4. Both assistants, lovely and helpful though they were, didn't have it down as an option.

So keep pressing and be prepared for loads of holding and piped music as the assistants check with their managers. But it's worth it in the end.

Anyway, thanks again for all the useful tips.
The Brookmans Park Newsletter has been supporting the village and our local community since 1998 by providing free, interactive tools for all to use.
 

Offline Editor

  • David Brewer
  • Administrator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 8681
  • Thanked: 117 times
  • Gender: Male
    • Media Helping Media
  • Expertises:
  • Media consultant
  • Journalism trainer
  • Walking
  • Real ale
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #626 on: February 20, 2017, 02:38:00 pm »
How soon is the installation date ?

I have an installation dates three weeks away with a site visit (external) a week earlier.

Also, as it's a new cable / fibre, can you choose where it comes into the house ?

Yes, I think so. The first visit doesn't require the owner to be in because it is the visit where they will connect the fibre to a new box on the outside wall. If you want, they let you fix a date for the first visit so that you can be there. They offer morning or afternoon. I understand that you can talk to the engineers about the location of the box on that first visit. The second visit you have to be in because that is when they install the new hub and modem and, I was told, connect the TV if required.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2017, 03:42:44 pm by Editor »
The Brookmans Park Newsletter has been supporting the village and our local community since 1998 by providing free, interactive tools for all to use.
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1388
  • Thanked: 11 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #627 on: February 20, 2017, 02:44:10 pm »
Why is the TV relevant ?

Ideally I want the new line to come in overhead and straight into my loft. That's where my current BT master socket is which connects to the router.

My TV has wired Ethernet to the router so hoping to keep the same setup in order to minimise any extra wiring

I'm assuming the BT package includes TV, BT Sport ?
 

Offline Editor

  • David Brewer
  • Administrator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 8681
  • Thanked: 117 times
  • Gender: Male
    • Media Helping Media
  • Expertises:
  • Media consultant
  • Journalism trainer
  • Walking
  • Real ale
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #628 on: February 20, 2017, 03:45:50 pm »
Why is the TV relevant ?

Sorry, that was a typo on my part. I wrote "connect the TV is required" when it should have read "connect the TV if required". Sorry about that. We have the basic BT TV package so that I can watch Liverpool struggle to keep up with the top five.  :-[

I'm assuming the BT package includes TV, BT Sport ?

From what I could gather they will tailor a package to meet your requirements, so not sure it's included in the price.
The Brookmans Park Newsletter has been supporting the village and our local community since 1998 by providing free, interactive tools for all to use.
 

Offline Red-Point

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 19
  • Thanked: 8 times
  • Forum Member
  • Expertises:
  • CAA Certified Aerial Photography & Videography
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #629 on: February 20, 2017, 06:57:58 pm »
Regarding installation time - two weeks...  Ordered 16 Feb, Phase 1 Installation (exterior) 21 Feb, Phase 2 Installation (interior) 02 Mar.
But then I may have been lucky. 

As it happens, the whole Infinity 4 deal will work out to be slightly less expensive than my existing Infinity 2 + Landline package as long as you take a BT annual contract.  Which, by the way, does not auto-renew.  You must renew the contract yourself otherwise you'll be switched to an off-contract package at the anniversary.  That explains why my current package seemed pretty expensive!
« Last Edit: February 21, 2017, 10:30:47 am by Red-Point »
 

Tags: