Author Topic: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre  (Read 259343 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Adrian

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #570 on: December 28, 2016, 10:09:50 am »
Hi Grant. Is woodlands and shrublands being done. 
Any update on these two roads?
 

Offline Trent

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Thanked: 2 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #571 on: December 28, 2016, 11:19:40 am »
Did I read this right, the FTTP is £72 per month?!!  :o
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #572 on: December 28, 2016, 11:57:06 pm »
I think 72/month is for the highest speed (up to 330Mb/s) service

My understanding is that Infinity 1 and 2 are priced at the same level whether provisioned fttp or fttc

The difference being (I hope) is that with fttp you will get the 'up-to' speed

I'm hoping to get the new service at the end of January (Im in Peplins)

 

Offline Adrian

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #573 on: December 29, 2016, 10:27:26 am »
It would be good to see a map of which road are or are not covered by fttp. Do you think it has anything to do with the fact some roads have telegraph poles with suspended cables whilst others appear to have buried cables. 
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #574 on: December 29, 2016, 12:33:53 pm »
Do you think it has anything to do with the fact some roads have telegraph poles with suspended cables whilst others appear to have buried cables. 

I don't think so, Bradmore Way has poles but Peplins Way is underground, at least where my house is.
 

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 535
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #575 on: December 29, 2016, 12:35:02 pm »
Its about a third of BP will be FTTP at present with nothing coming from openreach regarding further plans-basically all the homes off Cab 0 I think. Cab 1 (?) and 2 (mimms-great northh road) remain FTTC. I think that Openreach install poles if they are running FTTP to home that have buried cables (UG) Under ground as its cheaper than digging and eaiser to maintain (OH) overhead cables.
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #576 on: December 29, 2016, 12:47:26 pm »
I'm not sure it's relevant which cabinet you're currently on.

I believe I'm cabinet 1 yet Peplins Way should have fttp available by the end of Jan

The new fttp cabling I think is separate to the existing wiring
 

Offline Red-Point

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Thanked: 8 times
  • Forum Member
  • Expertises:
  • CAA Certified Aerial Photography & Videography
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #577 on: December 29, 2016, 01:30:01 pm »
Just been checking on Ultrafast Fibre / FTTP ordering.  Domestic Infinity-3 (200Mbps) @£45/month and Infinity-4 (300Mbps) @£52/month when ordered direct from BT on 0800 5874787 as somebody else mentioned in an earlier post.  This compares to £64 and £71 respectively when ordered on-line.

We're in Moffats Lane so can't see any I-3/4 availability yet on the BT website but a quick check for a random house in Brookmans Avenue shows that "up to" 300MBPS is available (http://www.productsandservices.bt.com/products/broadband-packages/).


You can find which BT Cabinet services your line at http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/btwchecker.php and you can find the cabinet location on a map here.  LNPOT is the Potters Bar Exchange and p1, p2 etc are the cabinets.
 
The following users thanked this post: jmj

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 535
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #578 on: December 29, 2016, 02:39:01 pm »
Very useful site. Many thanks. Bp
 

Offline jmj

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 25
  • Thanked: 1 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #579 on: December 29, 2016, 10:41:41 pm »
Just been checking on Ultrafast Fibre / FTTP ordering.  Domestic Infinity-3 (200MBPS) @£45/month and Infinity-4 (300MBPS) @£52/month when ordered direct from BT on 0800 5874787 as somebody else mentioned in an earlier post.  This compares to £64 and £71 respectively when ordered on-line.



Thanks for the info. I can't find anything on the BT website.
Are there any other costs, e.g. install, in addition to the monthly cost?
 

Offline Red-Point

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Thanked: 8 times
  • Forum Member
  • Expertises:
  • CAA Certified Aerial Photography & Videography
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #580 on: December 29, 2016, 11:33:09 pm »
Hi jmj. If you're already a BT broadband user then there's possibly no extra costs. If your BT router is not fibre enabled then I guess they'll charge you a nominal fee for a new one. Installation is done in two phases: external connection and internal termination. The internal termination includes a battery backup device that requires power so you might need to take that into consideration.

If you're not a BT customer then you may need to become a line subscriber with a quarterly rental and call charge package. I'm not sure if that's mandatory. I've always had a BT landline.
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #581 on: January 04, 2017, 02:14:57 pm »
A question to those already installed :

Did BT notify you that the new service was available ?

In Peplins I'm due to be connected at the end of the month - presumably work was done in the street first before any connections to houses could be completed.
 

Offline Adrian

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #582 on: January 12, 2017, 09:21:00 am »
On the subject of which houses are getting fftp and which aren't, I pursued an enquiry with Grant and Openreach. The responses are:

From Grant (via Chris Hughes da Silva)
..... our understanding is that the roads in which they have so far selected in the area are random ........ sorry I canít give you a more definitive answer ......

From Openreach
You are connected to CABINET-2 OF EXCHANGE Ė POTTERS BAR.
In response to your query, we would like to inform you that we do understand your concern but we have no current plans to make your cabinet fibre enable. Unfortunately, your property isnít currently included in the fibre roll-out for FTTP(FIBRE TO THE PREMISES) .We are  sorry that you will be unhappy with our response but having investigated our network data. We can advise that we are not currently able to supply you with Fibre to the PREMISES (FTTP). however, is that cabinet 2, to which you are connected, is not in the plans and, although delayed due to the large amount of work still required, we are currently looking at installing cabinets in or next to the exchange and then connecting up the those lines to provide the fibre. These solutions are only in test at the moment and in the very early stages Our market research team is working hard to provide fibre to all the customers as earliest possible and they are finding best solutions for that. However, we wonít be able to provide you an estimated date as of now. These solutions are only in test at the moment and in the very early stages. We are looking at installing cabinets to provide the  FTTC (FIBRE TO THE CABINET)/ FTTP(FIBRE TO THE PREMISES).
 

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 535
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #583 on: January 12, 2017, 10:23:24 am »
This is interesting as Cab 2 is FTTC enabled as I am using it on a shaky and unreliable 20mb link. There is also FTTP on demand available from this cabinet. Open reach will run FTTP from this on special order which is very expensive. I cannot afford the 5k plus they want! 
What concerns me is that open reach have opted to FTTP from one cabinet in the village and not the others-this will only create a technological and financial divide in the village and I do hope they see a sense of fairness here. I know where I would buy a house in the village. The ones that have FTTP.  I am in contact like you with grants office and they are pressuring open reach to amend their current plans to the whole village. Cheers BP

 

Offline Nimbus

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 83
  • Thanked: 16 times
  • Gender: Male
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #584 on: January 12, 2017, 03:39:38 pm »
That Openreach statement reads like spaghetti! I hope their wiring is neater.
 

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 535
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #585 on: January 17, 2017, 03:51:08 pm »
I saw poles and overhead fibre runs being installed in moffats lane today. Quite jealous. >:D  BP
 

Offline Poppy

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #586 on: January 18, 2017, 11:51:24 am »
I'm in Peplins, and it looks like overhead cable poles are being installed today.


I called the BT order line and was told that it isn't happening, isn't planned and all I can get is FTTC and a max speed of 20Mbps...  :'(
 

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 535
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #587 on: January 18, 2017, 01:02:02 pm »
i think BT customer facing are not briefed fully on the partial BP FTTP rollout. Others on the forum may be able to help with this.
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #588 on: January 19, 2017, 09:22:20 am »
Some pretty tall poles installed in Peplins Way
There's a sign on them advising that residents can object so presumably there's some period before they all get wired (fibred ?) up
 

Offline jonS

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Thanked: 9 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #589 on: January 19, 2017, 10:39:15 am »
My install was finished last week, and now have a rock solid 311/31 connection.


From my experience of ordering i tried phoning BT before it was available and they didn't have a clue. The FTTP department wont do anything until the dslchecker will show WBC 330 available instead of FTTPoD. So just give it a random check every now and then to see (might as well wait for the poles to be up however). Once this shows up you should be able to order from one of the FTTP suppliers. BT/Zen/IDNet(i think)/AA Net. To be fair BT were the cheapest for the speed/unlimited (especially if you phone them up and not order online).


Once ordering they will potentially give you two install dates. First stage and second stage; normally they do a first stage where they install the fibre to the exterior (a box on the wall from the pole/underground) and then a second stage where another engineer installs fibre modem inside and fusion splices with the exterior connection. You don't have to be in for the first stage but i requested to be contacted since i wanted to know where they will run the cables on my house to outside. That being said my first stage got canceled (even though they didn't tell me and i took the morning off work), and then on the second stage install date one guy turned up and did the lot. When i asked about the first /second stage to the engineer but he didn't seem to know they did that. My guess is that since the first guy can run the cable all the way to the modem he doesn't need to have a fusion splicer with him (a box that will accurately join two fibre cables together), which makes the install technically less challenging.

You can also have a choice of two cables the guy will install, a hybrid (fibre/copper) which replaces the current wire, or install a fibre only wire. I decided on the hybrid cable (to make it neater), and during the install our alarm panels started to go off (they are not connected via phone). Turns out when the new copper was put down, without an rf filter on the line it was acting as an aerial and picking up a lot of noise from the local radio tower. The new cable was run pretty close to an alarm wire and was corrupting data on the system. Unfortunately the alarm wires are old and alarm cable as standard are not shielded very well. Once everything was plugged up to the master socket on the wall which has an rf filter on it and also connected onto the pole the alarm was fine (I also managed to untangle the alarm wire the guy had wrapped the hybrid cable around).

Once installed the guy plugs up a BT home hub to the fibre modem (which has to be installed on a wall) and shows you the speed and it is connected. After that you're free to remove the home hub (not the fibre modem) and plug it up to something useful.
 
The following users thanked this post: sasquartch, Editor, Adrian

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #590 on: January 20, 2017, 11:11:20 am »
Work well underway in Peplins. Poles in and cabling work in progress

 

Offline Adrian

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 66
  • Thanked: 5 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #591 on: January 26, 2017, 07:33:54 pm »
Most of Brookmans Park is being covered by FTTP in 4 phases.


Having exchanged a few emails/phone calls with Openreach I am no clearer as to Openreach's local FTTP plan. Is it confined to properties served by cabinet 1? will that be extended? If not why only those properties? I give up. They never answer a direct question and all Grant's office can say is that it is random. I'm genuinely grateful for Grant's efforts but I think the above quote may be optimistic.
 

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 535
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #592 on: January 27, 2017, 11:38:33 am »
It would seem logical that if your are rolling out FTTP in one area it makes sense to do all of it and not just one part. Hopefully Openreach are going to roll out the network village wide. I have said in previous posts of my concern about creating a technologically divided Village and hopefully openreach will try to address this. I am noticing new strains on our shaky connection as common home media devices move towards a concentration on online delivery of content (TV/Radio). This is only going to increase with 4K TV and higher encoding rates for Radio. BP



 

Offline jonS

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 7
  • Thanked: 9 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #593 on: January 27, 2017, 03:36:13 pm »
I wonder if unadopted roads play a part when BT choose which cabinet is worth upgrading. I'm sure that planning permission to get poles in ground would take longer in such circumstances. For instance, why wouldn't Georges wood road be upgraded since it is between brookmans avenue and pine grove.


Also i can't seem to reply to private messages, does anyone know if i need a certain amount of posts to unlock this feature?


And because some people have asked me in messages:


goto: http://www.dslchecker.bt.com
When you see WBC FTTP you should be able to place an order for FTTP. if you see FTTPoD instead then i wouldn't bother phoning up since BT won't have a clue about FTTP in your area since openreach will not have updated there database until they are ready to do the customer side install.
 

Offline Editor

  • David Brewer
  • Administrator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 8880
  • Thanked: 136 times
  • Gender: Male
    • Media Helping Media
  • Expertises:
  • Media consultant
  • Journalism trainer
  • Walking
  • Real ale
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #594 on: January 27, 2017, 05:08:23 pm »
Also i can't seem to reply to private messages, does anyone know if i need a certain amount of posts to unlock this feature?

Hi JonS, welcome to the forum. Yes, you need three posts to unlock the messaging feature. This is an anti-spam measure put in place after one incident when a new member spammed dozens of people with an obscene image. You should be able to respond to messages now.  David
The Brookmans Park Newsletter has been supporting the village and our local community since 1998 by providing free, interactive tools for all to use.
 

Offline slimgym

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • Thanked: 2 times
  • Gender: Male
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #595 on: January 31, 2017, 01:17:35 pm »
Some pole work going on in Moffats Lane today.
 

Offline larrylamb

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 439
  • Thanked: 16 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #596 on: January 31, 2017, 07:04:34 pm »
welcome all nationalities if they are working. ;)
 

Offline Poppy

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #597 on: February 01, 2017, 06:31:19 pm »
I spoke to BT Fibre team today - good news for anyone in Peplins who is with BT - it's available to order!!
Bad news for me, and potentially anyone else with another broadband provider - apparently our address isn't on their system and they can't process an order for me!
Nice.
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #598 on: February 02, 2017, 12:07:59 am »
Who is your ISP

I rang PlusNet a month or so ago (my ISP) and they effectively said they couldn't supply the new FTTP service and I'd have to go to BT
 

Offline Poppy

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 3
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #599 on: February 02, 2017, 08:51:08 am »
I'm with EE and they said the same. Luckily my cancellation price is £250 and BT say they will refund up to £300.
(If and when they get my address available on their system..)
 

Tags: