Author Topic: Anyone else lost some Freeview channels???  (Read 860 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jmj

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 29
  • Thanked: 1 times
  • Forum Member
Anyone else lost some Freeview channels???
« on: March 24, 2018, 10:49:55 pm »
During last week we appear to have lost some Freeview channels including BBC News HD and Channel 4 +1 HD, probably due to this:
https://www.freeview.co.uk/tvchanges#OIbJaBOhfKyJZGzK.97

Have retuned several times and they're still missing. Anyone else noticed the same ???
 

Offline Angel

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on most things
  • *****
  • Posts: 871
  • Thanked: 39 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Anyone else lost some Freeview channels???
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2018, 08:43:48 pm »
I haven't retuned my box but did see a freeview post on Facebook saying some channels were moving and needed to retune on Wednesday (21st).
Maybe try retuning again but otherwise I have no idea.

https://www.freeview.co.uk/tvchanges
 

Offline Mermaid

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1583
  • Thanked: 33 times
  • Gender: Female
  • Forum Member
Re: Anyone else lost some Freeview channels???
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2018, 10:54:28 pm »
We are missing BBC4 HD despite retuning several times, and we are probably missing others which we haven't discovered yet. I think I read somewhere that Arquiva have been given the task of transmitting the HD on their bandwidth, but can only cover 75% of the country and not the 90% which had been receiving it. Would have thought we'd be in the 75% though .......
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1438
  • Thanked: 34 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Anyone else lost some Freeview channels???
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2018, 11:48:21 am »
Dont think there should be any issues - assuming you're on Crystal Palace of course which we should be in BP

Check out https://ukfree.tv/transmitters/tv/Crystal_Palace

 

Offline Nobby

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 194
  • Thanked: 18 times
Re: Anyone else lost some Freeview channels???
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2018, 05:55:34 pm »
I seem to have lost London Live or whatever it was called on Channel 8. No great loss though - it was all rubbish.
 

Offline Angel

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on most things
  • *****
  • Posts: 871
  • Thanked: 39 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Anyone else lost some Freeview channels???
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2018, 06:09:44 pm »
I seem to have lost London Live or whatever it was called on Channel 8. No great loss though - it was all rubbish.

 :D

Just looked and I've still got it (retuned yesterday) but I don't think I've ever watched that channel!
 

Offline chicken legs

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 431
  • Thanked: 9 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Anyone else lost some Freeview channels???
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2018, 09:10:14 am »
On London Live, there are some very old black and white films which may not be on other channels.
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1438
  • Thanked: 34 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Anyone else lost some Freeview channels???
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2018, 09:20:40 am »
I'm having problems also and now know the reason why a retune doesnt work

Prior to the changes last week services from Crystal Palace were transmitted on 8 channels, CH22,23,25,26,28,29,30 and 35. All these channels were within Group A and this is what most aerials have been specified

However, CH29 and 35 have now moved channels to CH55 and 56 which are no longer within Group A, therefore your aerial (if it's a Group A) will not pick up these higher channels with enough strength for your tuner

So, it looks like the solution will be to get a new wideband aerial.

Very frustrating given that my perfectly good Group A aerial is only a few years old

I'm going to try and get in touch with Freeview as I believe this will affect large numbers of people
 

Offline Purrfect

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 22
  • Thanked: 2 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Anyone else lost some Freeview channels???
« Reply #8 on: April 04, 2018, 06:52:19 pm »
Please be aware that if your aerial cable is very old and has degraded over time, then you might still have issues receiving the higher channels even with a new wideband aerial.

A small/cheap amplifier might help but itís best to get an engineer to confirm which items are needed (amplifier/ cable/ aerial).

Give Freeview a call to discuss as they might be able to send an engineer to you if retuning doesnít work.

Many people probably donít realise that they have been affected by this issue if they donít watch the channels which have moved (i.e. BBC News24 works ok but BBC News24 HD might not).
 

Tags: