Author Topic: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre  (Read 258726 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Alex

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
  • Thanked: 7 times
  • Gender: Male
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #240 on: January 12, 2010, 06:49:42 pm »
 :icon_scratch:

Hi,

I also have noticed in the last few weeks that my connection to Broadband drops out occasionally , the phones are ok. The router ( Netgear) then reconnects within a few seconds. Its annoying but at least I can continue doing what I want I was doing.

Does anyone have thoughts on this?

regards and HNY

Alex
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #241 on: January 12, 2010, 07:22:17 pm »
Domestic broadband has no guarantee as to the quality of service provided so occasional dropouts have to be expected.

Phone lines vary in quality and even the weather can have an effect if junction boxes get wet so it's entirely possible that snow and water can cause problems. Of course wiring problems in your house are possible as are the usual faulty microfilters etc. Maintenance on the network may also occur, connections dropping at night can be caused by this - often ISPs will give details of maintenance work on their webpages.

Most Netgear routers will report statistics on line speed and signal-to-noise ratio, it's worth keeping an eye on these to see if the line is deteriotaing. My router generally connects at about 1.8M with a S/N ratio of about 12dB - if the ration drops much below 6dB you may see problems. If you see a deteriotation and record the results then at least you have some information to report to your ISP if the problems get much worse.

 

Offline chicken legs

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 423
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #242 on: January 12, 2010, 10:23:30 pm »
While you're here, Sasquartch, I wonder if you can help me.  My Linkskys wireless router wont connect.  The message is "The settings saved on this computer for the net work do not match the requirements of the network".

I read on a Vista forum to delete the network and try to connect and then reset it.  This seemed to work for the person concerned, but before I take the step of deleting,  what information would I need to reset it, please?
 

Offline Oly

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
  • Thanked: 1 times
  • Gender: Male
  • Well, I say
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #243 on: January 12, 2010, 10:51:54 pm »
I had the same problem too, the guy in india changed the channel but my connection still drops sometimes. I just restart the computer and its fine again.
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #244 on: January 13, 2010, 12:05:39 pm »
While you're here, Sasquartch, I wonder if you can help me.  My Linkskys wireless router wont connect.  The message is "The settings saved on this computer for the net work do not match the requirements of the network".

I read on a Vista forum to delete the network and try to connect and then reset it.  This seemed to work for the person concerned, but before I take the step of deleting,  what information would I need to reset it, please?

What won't connect, the connection between your ISP and the modem, or your wireless connection between wireless router and PC ?
 

Offline chicken legs

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 423
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #245 on: January 13, 2010, 07:08:11 pm »
It's fine when plugged in but will not connect wireless if I take plug out.  I have an Edimax modem and a Linkskys wireless 2.4ghz 54mbps wireless router which work in tandem for a laptop, mac and wired printer.  Sounds complicated to me.  Being a tiscali customer I had the dreaded letter from TalkTalk today saying they are putting my monthly payment up by 2.  Anyway, that's another story  :) but I'll not be hanging around with TalkTalk for long.

Thank you for your interest Sasquartch
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #246 on: January 13, 2010, 08:26:38 pm »
It sounds like your wireless device (laptop I'm guessing) won't connect at all rather than having an unreliable connection.

I think the advice you received was probably correct. In Vista it's normally just a case of looking at available networks (normally by right-clicking on an icon in the system tray - don't have a Vista machine to hand at the mo) and selecting your wireless network (it's likely there will be a few) and entering a key if / when requested. Vista normally works out for itself what type of network and encryption is used. Without seeing it I can't be sure but it looks like something is misconfigured.

Hope that helps, feel free to message me if you still have problems
 

Offline Bob Horrocks

  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1555
  • Gender: Male
  • Expertises:
  • Green Belt
  • Parish Council
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #247 on: January 14, 2010, 01:13:26 pm »
At the parish council office there was a problem using a wireless link from the modem to a laptop.  Large files such as pdf documents would fail to download onto the laptop causing an error message.  They would download onto the desktop tower computer which had a cable linkage.   I ran a cable from the modem to the laptop and the documents then downloaded OK.

Because the signal strength is not brilliant at the end of Dellsome Lane it seems that the hurdle of getting across the wireless link was just too much.

Maybe this could be a cause of your problem?

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #248 on: January 14, 2010, 01:40:42 pm »
The strength of the broadband (ie ADSL) signal will have no bearing on the wireless (ie WiFi) signal.

If it works OK on wired (ie Ethernet) then your ADSl signal is fine.
 

Offline Johnny Redd

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Gender: Male
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #249 on: January 14, 2010, 04:11:24 pm »
I appreciate that you speak from some authority but based upon my (layman) experiences I disagree.

At the end of Peplins Way, our signal can best be described as weak. We have had our service 'tweaked' by our ISP but since October we still only get about 300-400kbps which our Belkin router wont detect. Prior to this we averaged about 600kbps and everything was fine (on the rare occasions these days that we get that kind of speed then the router also magically works).

I have tried a number of other routers, including one kindly lent by David, but no joy.

The common denominator is when signal strength is poor we have to use a non-wireless modem and when speeds are faster I get to use a router.

Happy Days......................   
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #250 on: January 14, 2010, 04:48:15 pm »
The most likely explanation is that the modem in the router is not as sensitive as the one in the modem. A wireless router is simply a modem, router and wireless access point in one package.

The wireless part of the router does not play any part in the ADSL side of things.

I am in Peplins about 1/3 of the way down and I am currently connected at 1.8M (downstream line speed) - it sounds like the quality of your line is poor, rather than you being too far from the exchange..
 

Offline awill

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 46
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #251 on: January 15, 2010, 11:05:37 am »
I too live at the very end of Peplins Way and have broadband via Sky. Frankly it won't matter who I choose as a service provider since the BT website indicates the best speed I can ever hope for is 512kb, due to the distance from the PB exchange. However, my wireless router (Netgear) matched to two windows laptops and a Mac desktop works fine - just painfully painfully slow....

I await with bated breath the delivery on the government's promise of a minimum 2mb broadband speed - known as the Universal Service Commitment, by 2012....

Sadly I have truly terrrible mobile signals on most networks so using mobile broadband would not likely help matters either....

 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #252 on: January 15, 2010, 11:30:45 am »

Sadly I have truly terrrible mobile signals on most networks so using mobile broadband would not likely help matters either....



O2 reception is very poor in Peplins but Vodafone is fine. I'm assuming Orange is also fine too as I believe they own the mast next to the Scout Hut.

Mobile broadband in the real world is unlikely to be anywhere near as good as ADSL.
 

Offline James Bentall

  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1196
  • Thanked: 27 times
  • Gender: Male
  • Keep :-)
    • Brookmans Park Newsletter
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #253 on: January 15, 2010, 12:27:19 pm »
The speed I get on mobile broadband is around the same as the speed I get on my fixed broadband line, living in the centre of the village....
James Bentall, Brookmans Park, Herts.
I post in a personal capacity and not on behalf of North Mymms Parish Council
 

Offline Johnny Redd

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Gender: Male
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #254 on: January 15, 2010, 02:13:28 pm »
And do I believe the speed that the modem 'declares' upon hook up or the download/upload speeds which are achieved through sites like 'Bandwidth Place' or similar.

The difference can be startling, i.e. 2.1mb on hookup and 640kbps or less download speed when tested immediately thereafter..........
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #255 on: January 23, 2010, 01:40:19 pm »
I received this from my ISP (Plusnet in December)

We have good news for you. Your telephone line is in an area that can now benefit from our new broadband network (this is known as 21CN).

Over the past year we have been trialling this new broadband network and our trials have now completed. The main advantage of this network is that it will help to offer better performance for all of our customers.

We will be switching your service over to this new network and there will be no need to change any settings on your ADSL router. You will remain on the same 'up to 8Mbps' speeds that you have currently but are likely to see a better broadband performance.

The change is free of charge and there will be no other changes to your existing broadband account, contract or usage allowance.

We expect this to happen within the next 5 weeks.


Sure enough I've just started seeing my modem connect at 2.3M, up from about 1.6M

OK, it's nowhere near the mythical 8Mb figure but pretty good for Peplins Way.

I would expect that this would apply to other ISP's reselling BT broadband (which is most of them)


 

MikeL

  • Guest
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #256 on: January 23, 2010, 02:45:41 pm »
Wow. I've just done a download test and got 3.2M. I've never see speeds like that before, especially not on a Saturday afternoon. I might even be able to watch iPlayer now.
 

Offline Johnny Redd

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Gender: Male
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #257 on: January 23, 2010, 05:52:31 pm »
Thanks Sasquartch.

I'm with Plusnet and got zilch communication about improvement in service!!!

Have just run a test and am getting a download speed of 466kbps and an upload speed of 356kbps which is actually far better than normal. Have written to Plusnet so await an answer with interest.

 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #258 on: January 23, 2010, 07:32:02 pm »
Let me know if you want me to forward you the full email I originally received from Plusnet.
 

Offline Alex

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
  • Thanked: 7 times
  • Gender: Male
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #259 on: February 07, 2010, 02:31:58 pm »
 ???


We often hear of the slowness of broadband download/upload  speeds in the area and with the publicity over recent months about the % of the country getting fibre optics I decided to contact "BT" and try and get some update on when we might see improvements in this area.

The following link provides update on what is planned/estimated and albeit there are no guarantees that BT will carry out what is indicated, it is not good news for this area! Take a look and feel unwanted!

http://www.openreach.co.uk/orpg/products/nga/downloads/FTTC_ pot_exchs.pdf


Having experienced the speed of broadband in Hertford recently, it makes you realise just how slow our systems are. Better that pigeon post though! ;D


edited only to correct link
« Last Edit: February 07, 2010, 04:49:35 pm by Ferdie »
 

Offline PS

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 802
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #260 on: February 07, 2010, 03:43:03 pm »
Seems that by trying to get into the link - the systems have completely frozen up !!!!!

Perhaps pigeon post is more reliable !!!   
 

Offline Alex

  • Opinions on many things
  • ***
  • Posts: 226
  • Thanked: 7 times
  • Gender: Male
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #261 on: February 07, 2010, 04:04:31 pm »
Hi,

sorry about that I have reported the issue to the site. In the meantime if you go to the open reach site, click on super fast fibre optics then click at the top when/where, you will then get to the page I was trying to hightlight!

Alex
 

Offline Angel

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on most things
  • *****
  • Posts: 849
  • Thanked: 31 times
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #262 on: February 07, 2010, 05:32:47 pm »
Hi,

sorry about that I have reported the issue to the site. In the meantime if you go to the open reach site, click on super fast fibre optics then click at the top when/where, you will then get to the page I was trying to hightlight!

Alex

I think the problem with the link is that there is a space in it (after the underscore and before the p) so linking doesn't pick it all up.  Therefore,  you have to copy and paste the whole url into your address bar.  
 ;) :)


EDIT:

Oops - just seen it's been corrected!!
 

Offline Editor

  • David Brewer
  • Administrator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 8877
  • Thanked: 136 times
  • Gender: Male
    • Media Helping Media
  • Expertises:
  • Media consultant
  • Journalism trainer
  • Walking
  • Real ale
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #263 on: February 07, 2010, 07:21:10 pm »
I have merged this with existing threads covering the same issue.  David
The Brookmans Park Newsletter has been supporting the village and our local community since 1998 by providing free, interactive tools for all to use.
 

Offline Johnny Redd

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Gender: Male
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #264 on: February 08, 2010, 07:44:00 am »
Sorry to be a bit dumb, but don't we come under Potters Bar exchange??

I can't seem to find any local place names in the list, so does this mean no plans at all for us???

I would have thought we are no more rural than somewhere like Elstree which is due this year.
 

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 535
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #265 on: February 08, 2010, 10:40:55 am »
ive emailed open reach to find out what the plans are for BP. Will let you know when i get a reply.....
 

Offline BrookyP

  • Opinions on most things
  • ****
  • Posts: 535
  • Thanked: 6 times
  • Expertises:
  • Sound Engineer
  • Ebay Power Seller
  • Audio/Visual Reclaim Specialist
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #266 on: February 14, 2010, 11:33:43 am »
The "chocolate teapot" reply...

Thank you for your enquiry - ref ++++++
Unfortunately I cannot confirm a date for when the Super-fast Fibre Access is planned for your exchange. Please take a look at the following website:

http://www.openreach-communications.co.uk/superfast/what-it-means-for-you/people-at-home.htm
This website provides information regarding which exchanges are currently or due to be upgraded. Please check this website periodically for updates of when your exchange will be included.

I hope this helps and I hope that your exchange is included in the rollout soon.
Regards
 

Offline Johnny Redd

  • Opinions on some things
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Gender: Male
  • Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #267 on: March 18, 2010, 11:59:29 am »
Back to the good old techie issues again.............

Has anyone else seen a big reduction in download speeds this week. Was getting 2 and a half meg download speed somedays recently but as of 9am Monday were back down to 100-130kbps and neither my Belkin or DLink routers, will detect the ADSL signal.

According to BT, anything over 50kbps (thats a 20th of a meg) is acceptable where I am.

Anyone got any ideas why its suddenly so bad??? and also why can I get a reliable upload speed of 300-400 when the download speed is so unreliable?
 

Offline sasquartch

  • Forum Moderator
  • Opinions on everything
  • *****
  • Posts: 1412
  • Thanked: 20 times
  • Brookmans Park Forum Member
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #268 on: March 18, 2010, 12:27:18 pm »
Is your phone line OK ?

I've often found that when broadband speeds fall it's accompanied by crackiling on the line, that sort of thing. If the phone audio quality is poor then BT are obliged to investigate.
 

colinr

  • Guest
Re: Village broadband and high-speed optic fibre
« Reply #269 on: March 18, 2010, 01:14:01 pm »
I did a test with this site, it logs other users in the area, and it looks like our area is very slow.
Not sure why maybe because we have overhead cables and are a few miles from the Potters bar exchange?

http://www.top10-broadband.co.uk/speedtest/
 

Tags: