Author Topic: The lost trackway  (Read 3415 times)

Offline Mike Burgess

• Opinions on a couple of things
  • Forum Member
The lost trackway
« on: April 29, 2013, 09:35:57 pm »
I wonder if anyone here has ever heard of the Puddingstone Track?

In 1949 Dr Ernest Rudge (later to be principal of West Ham Technical College) reckoned to have discovered a Neolithic trackway from Grimes Graves (ancient flint mines in Norfolk) to Stonehenge, marked at intervals by puddingstone boulders. He spent the next 25 years following the track and discovering more and more stones. It's supposed to enter Herts at Cheshunt and head roughly westwards through Newgate Street and Wildhill, before passing a boulder in Millward's Park. Then come Bullen's Green, Colney Heath and Tyttenhanger, and a line of nine stones going through St. Albans.

I'm particularly interested in the Bullen's Green and Colney Heath stones, as I've been investigating this alleged trackway for many months now. Dr Rudge never actually saw either of these himself, as they were either buried or lost, but was told about them by locals. The first he described as being once beside the road, but by 1950 had been buried in the foundations of No 27 Bullen's Green Row. However, the map reference he gives is TL214060, which would put it round about No 57 or 59 Bullen's Green Lane. Now, I've searched through maps back to the 1870's, and can't find any trace of this Row.  Can anyone help?

The second stone I'm trying to track down was supposed to have been at TL197062, by the roadside near Colney Heath church, and disappeared after road alterations. The site was later covered by a bus shelter. If anyone has any information about, or old photographs of, either of these, I'd be grateful to hear about it - or indeed any other puddingstone boulders that might be in the area.

Offline Local Walker

• Opinions on many things
  • Forum Member
Re: The lost trackway
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2013, 08:55:43 pm »
Hello Mike