Author Topic: The Hipgave family  (Read 4437 times)

Offline katie

• Opinions on a couple of things
The Hipgave family
« on: February 26, 2010, 06:18:11 pm »
I have just found your website, and must congratulate the web masters as such an informative site.  I have just started tracing my family tree and it led me here.  I am very new to this and do get a bit confused but in the 1871 census and the 1881 census and the 1891 census my great grandfather William Hipgrave lived in Church Lodge, Pancake Hall Road, North Mymms.  This is obviously part of a big estate, but I am not sure what estate.  He is listed as a platelayer on GN & R and in the later census, a watchman.   In Dorothy Colville's book, their is a brief mention in Chapter 8 of constructing a footpath from Welham Geen to Hipgrave's Lodge.  On the front page of the history section, Canadian Richard Gillions has written about tracing his Great Grandmother Jane Hipgrave who had re-married, well she re-married my Great Grandfather, whose wife had died.  Anyone who can give me any more information about anything, I would be most grateful.  I must visit North Mymms in the summer, you sound a very close knit community.  If anyone could tell me if Pancake Hall Road still  exists, that would be nice. :-*

Offline Bob Horrocks

• Opinions on everything
  • Expertises:
  • Green Belt
  • Parish Council
Re: The Hipgave family
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2010, 05:35:08 pm »
It may now be called Dixons Hill Close since Pancake Hall still exists on that road, although it is not what you might imagine a 'hall' to look like.  It is a fairly normal looking detached house.  Dixons Hlll Close is just outside the boundary of Welham Green, off Dixons Hill Road and runs down the the A1(M).  It may well be the original road between Welham Green and Colney Heath village before the A1 was built.